CIEH Awards 2016

The annual CIEH Awards reception was held 11 July 2016 at House of Lords, Westminster.

The CIEH Awards are for the whole environmental health profession – from students to those who have been working in environmental health for their whole lives – and reward those whose actions have improved people’s health and wellbeing or have excelled in the realm of environmental health. This could be a project that improved health in a community or increased sustainability in the workplace.

The awards are judged by a dedicated panel of experts, who are asked to judge each nomination according to the award criteria. To read more about the panel click here.

To read about the 2016 awards and the full list of winners click here.

2016 Finalists and Winners

CIEH Awards 2016 Winners & Finalists 

The Graduate of the Year Award: Seeks to reward the excellence of new members of the environmental health profession.

Silver medallist: Evie Woodham from Cardiff Metropolitan University

Gold medallist: Nigel Shire from University of West of England

CIEH Fellowship Awards: Obtained in two ways: the first is by Thesis, which recognises the high standard of research carried out into an environmental health subject area at least at the level of an MSc thesis. The second is obtained by election.

Fellowship by Thesis Award: Ben Simms from University of the West of England. The subject of Ben’s thesis is ‘Tattooists’ Perspectives of Entering the Tattoo Industry, Tattooing as an Occupation and the Regulation of the Tattoo Industry in a Seaside Town in Southern England’.

Fellowship by Thesis Award: Sarah Davidson from the University of Salford. The subject of Sarah’s thesis is ‘‘The Challenges and Barriers to Safe Display Laser Use in the Entertainment Industry: A Review of Regulations and Safety Practices”. The thesis was submitted as part of an MSc at the University of Salford.

Fellowship by Election Award: Mark Ball – nominated for a Fellowship by Election by the Port Health Special Interest Group.

The Scrutiny Panel that assessed Mark’s application were particularly impressed by his special knowledge and ability in relation to food safety. Mark is an internationally recognized expert in food safety matters and, until recently, was the FSA’s Primary Representative in the EU, for which he was senior negotiator for all food safety, hygiene and standards legislative proposals.

Excellence Award Winners for 2016: Nominated by the profession and judged by an independent panel including representatives from the LGA and Sainsbury’s.

Professional of the Year Award: This category recognises the contribution made by individuals to environmental health through their work. There are two winners available for this category: one for public sector and one for private sector.

Professional of the Year – Public Sector Winner: Richard Francis, Senior EHO – Wiltshire Council

Professional of the Year – Private Sector Winner: Dawn Welham

Shortlisted finalists for the Professional of the Year – Public Sector: 

  • Richard Frances, Senior EHO – Wiltshire Council
  • Deborah Lear, Service Manager – Bath and NE Somerset Council
  • Helen Stott, Health Protection Specialist – Cheshire West & Chester Council
  • Amy Worboys, Environmental Health Officer – Worcester Regulatory Services

Shortlisted finalists for the Professional of the Year – Private Sector:  

  • Lee Hefferman, Industrial Hygienist, BP Shipping
  • Dawn Welham, Global Technical Director – SAI Global

Organisation/Team of the Year 2016: This category recognises the contribution made by a team or organisation to environmental health through their work.

Organisation of the Year – Public Sector Winner: Flintshire County Council

Organisation of the Year – Private Sector Winner: The Food Safety & Hygiene Academy of the Philippines

Shortlisted finalists for the Organisation of the Year – Public Sector: 

  • Flintshire County Council – Joanna Seymour, Environmental Health Officer
  • Oxford City Council – David North, Environmental Health Officer

Outstanding Achievement Award 2016: Given to the individual who has made the greatest contribution to environmental health either in their lifetime, or in a noteworthy project of national significance in the previous year.

Outstanding Achievement Award Winner: David Edwards, Founding Director Cmi PLC

Outstanding Achievement Award Finalists: 

  • David Edwards, Founding Director Cmi PLC
  • Mark Flanagan, Managing Director Shieldyourself/SoNQ

CIEH Vocational Awards for Top Student 2016: Recognises excellence in training and the delivery of CIEH training products and services.

Top Student Award for Level 4 Award for Health and Safety in the Workplace: Sean Field, Greenline HSTC

Top Student Award for Level 4 Award in Food Safety Management for Manufacturing: Olivia Cunliffe (with Merit) from Isbourne Environmental Limited

Top Student Award for Level 4 Award in Managing Food Safety in Catering (Crystal) joint winners: 

  • Ashleigh Culver (with Merit) from Food Hygiene Centre Ltd.
  • Richard George (with Merit) from the Royal Naval Catering School (Cornwall)
print Print | email Email